HomeMoviesHow To Watch 'Star Wars' Movie In Order?

    How To Watch ‘Star Wars’ Movie In Order?

    Star Wars is one of the most popular and successful franchises that started with a film released in 1999. This well-liked franchise was created by George Lucas, but it didn’t remain confined to films, it has also expanded into other projects like TV shows, novels, video games, and others. The franchise has managed to accumulate a huge fan base over the years and this is what has brought a lot of profits for the franchise. Starting from little kids to elder people, everyone loves watching ‘Star Wars‘ films again and again.

    ‘Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace’ is the first installment of the franchise and it received a positive response from the audience. As of now, the franchise features 11 installments in total and the latest part premiered in December 2019. There are four more projects under development in the franchise. To avoid confusion, here’s how to watch the movies in order.

    Related: Does Mark Hamill Get Royalties From ‘Star Wars’?

    Star Wars movies in proper order

    1. Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace

    Liam Neeson as Qui-Gon Jinn

    The first installment of ‘Star Wars’ follows Jedi Master Qui-Gon Jinn and his apprentice Obi-Wan Kenobi. The duo tries to end an interplanetary trade dispute. The film debuted in 1999 and it earned $1.027 billion at the box office.

    2. Star Wars: Episode II – Attack Of The Clones

    Natalie Portman as Padmé Amidala

    The storyline of the second installment is set ten years after The Phantom Menace. Many planetary systems withdraw from the Galactic Republic and join the Confederacy of Independent Systems with Jedi Master Count Dooku as the leader. The galaxy might get involved in a war and Obi-Wan Kenobi tries to find the reason behind the assassination attempt on Senator Padme Amidala. He finds a clone army serving the Republic and attempts to search everything about the Separatist movement. ‘Star Wars: Episode II – Attack of the Clones’ was released in 2002 and stars Ewan McGregor, Natalie Portman, Hayden Christensen, and others.

    3. Star Wars: Episode III – Revenge Of The Sith

    Hayden Christensen as Darth Vader

    Released in 2005, ‘Star Wars: Episode III – Revenge of the Sith’ is set three years after the events of Episode II. Chancellor Palpatine was kidnapped by the commander of the Droid Army, General Grievous. The Jedi send Obi-Wan and Anakin to protect Chancellor and put an end to the war.

    In case you missed: What Was The Inspiration Behind ‘Star Wars’ For Filmmaker George Lucas?

    4. Solo: A Star Wars Story

    Alden Ehrenreich as Han Solo

    The basic premise of ‘Solo: A Star Wars Story’ shows how Han Solo came to be known as the galaxy’s most notorious smuggler and how he became a legend. The fourth part was released in 2018.

    5. Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

    Felicity Jones as Jyn Erso

    Released in 2016, ‘Rogue One: A Star Wars Story’ follows a group of rebels who band together to steal the ultimate weapon of the Galactic Empire. The fifth part has a different tone and style compared to the previous parts.

    6. Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope

    Mark Hamill as Luke Skywalker

    Released on May 25, 1977, ‘Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope’ is the sixth installment of the franchise. It follows Luke Skywalker, who joins Jedi Knight to save the galaxy from the Empire’s world-destroying battle station.

    Related: Donnie Yen Slams Asian Stereotypes In ‘John Wick 4’ And ‘Star Wars: Rogue One’

    7. Star Wars: Episode V – The Empire Strikes Back

    James Earl Jones as Darth Vader

    ‘Star Wars: Episode V – The Empire Strikes Back’ focuses on the battle to save the galaxy from the evil Darth Vader rages on. Han Solo, Princess Leia, and Chewbacca get involved in the Imperial Army’s attack. However, Luke Skywalker goes in search of ancient Yoda to know the Jedi’s secrets which will be helpful when the Dark Side of the Force would beckon him in a confrontation with Darth Vader.

    8. Star Wars: Episode VI – Return of the Jedi

    A still from Star Wars: Episode VI – Return of the Jedi

    Released in 1983, ‘Star Wars: Episode VI – Return of the Jedi’ is the eighth installment of the franchise. It shows the after events following the rescue of Han Solo. The Rebels do their best to wipe out the Death Star and Luke tries to bring Darth Vader back from the dark world.

    9. Star Wars: The Force Awakens

    Harrison Ford as Han Solo

    ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’ is set after the thirty years of defeat of Darth Vader and the Empire. The ninth installment was released in December 2015.

    10. Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    A still from Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Released in 2017, ‘Star Wars: The Last Jedi’ involved the after events of ‘Star Wars: Episode VII – The Force Awakens‘ (2015). ‘Star Wars: The Last Jedi’ continues as new heroes and galactic legends go on an epic adventure, unlocking mysteries of the Force and shocking revelations of the past.

    11. Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

    Daisy Ridley as Rey

    Released in 2019, ‘Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker’ is the latest installment of the franchise. As an ending to the popular Skywalker saga, new legends will be introduced and the last battle for freedom will be witnessed soon.

    You might also like to read: Liam Neeson Says “So Many Spinoffs” Are Ruining ‘Star Wars’ Franchise

    Anupal Sraban Neog
    Anupal Sraban Neog
    Anupal Sraban Neog works as a Content Writer for First Curiosity. He never misses the release of any movie or series, and is the entertainment buff in every group. Be it Marvel, DC or Game Of Thrones, he always wins at Hollywood trivia. Currently pursuing M.A. in Journalism and Mass Communication, he aims to build a successful career in the media sector.

    Trending on FC