HomeNewsWhat Is The Chronological Order To Play All Fallout Games?

    What Is The Chronological Order To Play All Fallout Games?

    With the hit Amazon TV show and several hit games Fallout has constantly managed to intrigue and captivate its audience. The ‘Fallout‘ series offers players a captivating journey through a post-apocalyptic world filled with challenges.

    Additionally, if the game is played in chronological order it helps build the narrative the game intended for. The Fallout games begin ‘Fallout 76’ which takes place in the year 2102. roughly 25 years after the nuclear apocalypse. Players emerge from Vault 76, located in West Virginia, to rebuild society and uncover the mysteries of the wasteland. 

    Next in the timeline is ‘Fallout’. Released in 1997, Fallout is set in the year 2161, over a century after the bombs fell. Fallout is its direct sequel, Fallout 2 is set 80 years later in 2241. The game expands on the lore introduced in its predecessor.

    Then the next game in line Fallout 3 shifts the setting to the ruins of Washington D.C. in the year 2277. The game introduces the iconic Brotherhood of Steel and marks the series’ transition to 3D graphics. Continuing the chronological journey is Fallout: New Vegas, set in the year 2281.

    The game begins four years after the events of Fallout 3. Finally, Fallout 4 concludes the chronological timeline, set in the year 2287 in the Commonwealth aka Massachusetts. Moreover, the game begins with a quest to find the missing son and navigate the conflict between the Institute, the Railroad, the Brotherhood of Steel, and the Minutemen. 

    Related: Top 10 Video Games That Have Been Adapted Into TV Shows And Films

    Fallout Games Expanded Universe, Spin-Offs And More

    A still from the fallout video games
    A still from the Fallout video game

    The ‘Fallout‘ franchise extends beyond the main game series. The franchise has introduced several spin-offs for the original games. The first spin-off released in 2001 titled Fallout Tactics: Brotherhood of Steel takes a departure from the traditional RPG format and introduces tactical combat-oriented gameplay. 

    Secondly, Fallout: Brotherhood of Steel (2004)’ is an action RPG spinoff that offers players encounters with familiar factions in addition to the combat and multiplayer gameplay. After this, comes ‘Fallout Shelter (2015)’. This is the franchise’s first venture into mobile gaming, Fallout Shelter puts players in the role of Vault-Tec overseers tasked with managing their own vault. 

    Finally, Fallout: Wasteland Warfare (2018) offers players a tactical miniatures experience set in the Fallout universe. In conclusion, it’s no surprise that the Fallout games have managed to stay relevant all these decades with their consistent and intriguing gameplay.

    You might also like to read:

    Vanshika Minakshi
    Vanshika Minakshi
    Vanshika is a content writer at FirstCuriosity, diving into the vibrant universe of celebrities, movies, and TV shows with fervor. Her passion extends beyond her professional endeavors, as she immerses herself in the realms of rap music and video games, constantly seeking inspiration from diverse sources. She is a business student with a knack for marketing blending analytical insights with creative instincts to craft compelling narratives. When not working you can find her spending times with her beloved pet dogs or watching true crime documentaries. Additionally, she has over 40 published articles exploring the exhilarating realm of eSports and profiling popular streamers, showcasing her expertise and passion for gaming culture.

    Trending on FC