What Is The Correct Order To Watch The ‘Lord Of The Rings’ Films?

'The Lord Of The Rings' is based on J.R.R. Tolkien's works
'The Lord Of The Rings' is based on J.R.R. Tolkien's works

The Lord of the Rings‘ has ceased to be just movies and has become a well-established cult of its own. The franchise based on J.R.R. Tolkien’s books offers a full package loaded with adventure and beloved characters which remain imprinted in the hearts of people. There are a total of six movies of which three are ‘The Lord of the Rings‘ and three are ‘The Hobbit‘ films.

With various streaming services available on the internet, it has become relatively easy to access and rewatch all these films to make your evenings great. Here is a list of all ‘The Lord of the Rings‘ movies in chronological order.

Related: ‘The Lord Of The Rings’: How Many Episodes Will Be In ‘Rings Of Power’ Season 2 With All-Female Direction?

- Advertisement -

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (2012)

Let us tell you a fun fact. ‘The Lord of the Rings‘ is set 60 years after the setting of ‘The Hobbit‘ trilogy. However, it was released almost a decade later. ‘The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey’ is the first film to watch if you want to get the story right from the start. It follows Bilbo Baggins played by Martin Freeman who joins Gandalf and Thorin on a mission to reclaim the Dwarven kingdom.

The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug (2013)

This is the second installment of ‘The Hobbit’ series. In the film, we follow Thorin and others’ journey towards The Lonely Mountain. We get to see the character of Bilbo who goes into the mountain where he encounters Smaug. The film was a worldwide hit and it grossed $959 million worldwide.

The Hobbit: The Battle Of The Five Armies (2014)

The is the final installment in ‘The Hobbit‘ series. This film is loaded with some great action and fights scenes. It is also a very significant film considering that it was Ian Holm’s and Christopher Lee’s last live-action film as they died in 2020 and 2015. The film ends at the starting point of ‘The Lord of the Rings’ trilogy.

- Advertisement -

The Lord Of The Rings: The Fellowship Of The Ring (2001)

This is the first installment of ‘The Lord Of the Rings‘ trilogy. In this film also, we follow Frodo Baggins. It takes place 60 years after Bilbo’s adventure in The Hobbit series. Frodo unites with his companions and sets off on a journey to Mount Doom in the land of Mordor. The film grossed over $880 million worldwide in its initial release and also became the fifth highest-grossing film of all time.

The Lord Of The Rings: The Two Towers (2002)

This is the second installment of ‘The Lord Of the Rings‘ trilogy. In the film, we continue to follow Frodo and Sam on their journey to Mordor however, they have a company Gollum with them. The movie however portrays four different timelines at once.

In case you missed: Who Is Adar In ‘The Lord of The Rings: The Rings of Power’?

- Advertisement -

The Lord Of The Rings: The Return Of The King (2003)

This is the third installment of ‘The Lord Of the Rings‘ trilogy. This is definitely the film that does it all. It evokes all kinds of emotion and is a cinematic masterpiece. We get a final showdown between Middle Earth and Sauron. Gandalf, Aragorn, Legolas, Gimli, and others come together to save humanity and destroy the rings.

You might also like to read: ‘Lord Of The Rings’ Cast: Where Are They Now?